De Luca Foundation is pleased to announce the winners: $30K in COVID financial aid awarded to Graduate and Post-doctoral students worldwide

May 28, 2020

To strengthen the hands of future MOVEMENT SCIENTISTS during these difficult times, the De Luca Foundation is supporting 30 graduate students and post-docs each with $1,000.00 USD.

While researchers worldwide have been affected by the COVID-19 situation, those experiencing the largest strains are graduate students and post-docs who rely solely on grants and stipends to progress both science and their professional development. We hope the funds will provide temporary relief during the 2020 summer months while institutions, labs, and people adjust to a “new normal.”

Names of the recipients:

Recipient Institution
Benjamin Conner University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix
Carlos Ignacio De la fuente Universidade Federal de Pampa
Elizabeth Michele Orozco Texas Woman's University
Elmira Pourreza Middle East Technical University
Fariba Hasanbarani McGill University
Feifan Wang The University of Hong Kong
Gustavo Balbinot University Health Network
Hélio V. Cabral Federal University of Rio de Janeiro
Humberto De las Casas Cleveland State University
Hyunjae Jeon University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Isabel Alice Ely University of Nottingham
James McDonnell Indiana University
Jaywoo Kim University of Michigan
John Jerome Davis Indiana University Bloomington
Kate Anne Spitzley University of Oregon
Keisuke Kubota Graduate School of Saitama Prefectural University
Kevin Mark Biese University of Wisconsin-Madison
Kylie Harmon University of Central Florida
Landon Bryce Lempke The University of Georgia
Matheus Maia Pacheco University of Sao Paulo
Mathew Sunil Varre University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Mehran Rahmani University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Moeka Sonoo Saitama Prefectural University
Raza Naseem Malik University of British Columbia
Shaquitta Rena Dent University of Illinois at Chicago
Sumire Sato University of Massachusetts Amherst
Tanvir Ahmed University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Tasnuva Alam Georgia State University
Whitney Lauryn Wolff University of Michigan
Williane Oliveira Bernardes Valentino University of Eastern Finland

Note: Recipients of the EMG Equipment Donation Program will be announced during the week of June 1, 2020.